Varèse Sarabande’s Record Store Day releases detailed

Varèse Sarabande Record Store Day logo

Every year Varèse Sarabande Records has released some of the more sought-after releases. Every one I have heard has sounded great, thanks to the mastering efforts of Steve Massie. Once again, their records will be pressed by Erika Records.

The big release is The Zombies’ classic Odessey & Oracle. You need this if you have any interest in 60’s music and don’t own an original copy. It’s an outstanding British psych/flower power album, with elements of The Kinks, The Beatles, Pink Floyd. “Time of the Season” was the hit, but if you mention “This Will Be Our Year” in a group of record collectors, you’ll get a bunch of knowing nods. It’s such a great song The Foo Fighters covered it on their Record Store Day release. If Syd Barrett hadn’t slipped the Emily in Pink Floyd’s “See Emily Play” some acid, she might have ended up like the Emily in “A Rose for Emily.” That Emily probably lived next door to Eleanor Rigby but never spoke to her.

This masterpiece will leave you wanting more Zombies, so keep an eye out for their other release. Sometimes known as I Love You, this its first release in the US.

Fans of the Peter Gabriel-era Genesis will note a different lineup on From Genesis to Revelation. Without Hackett and Collins, Genesis’ first album is really more of a progressive pop album. If you prefer the Bee Gees’ psychedelic pop period to any sort of prog rock, this album is for you. No carpets were crawled in the making of this album.

I’m not going to pretend that I have heard The Everly Brothers or Norman Greenbaum albums in their entirety. I trust Varèse Sarabande and the million bands I love who cite The Everly Brothers as influences.

Varèse Sarabande Records’ press release follows. 

The Zombies Odessey and Oracle (Stereo)
Odessey and Oracle, the classic Zombies album that is consistently in the top 10 lists of the greatest albums of all-time. Featuring the classic hit “Time of The Season”

Track List:
Side One:
1. Care of Cell 44
2. A Rose for Emily
3. Maybe After He’s Gone
4. Beechwood Park
5. Brief Candles
6. Hung Up On A Dream

Side Two:
1. Changes
2. I Want Her She Wants Me
3. This Will Be Our Year
4. Butcher’s Tale (Western Front 1914)
5. Friends of Mine
6. Time of the Season
Limited to 2,500 units

The Everly Brothers Songs Our Daddy Taught Us (Mono)
In 1958 Songs Our Daddy Taught Us made a seminal artistic statement without pretension. A concept album before there was such thing; a return to basics before rock music had even matured. It all came naturally to Don and Phil Everly, the chart-topping recording stars who were just 21 and 19 respectively.

Track List:
Side One:
1 Roving Gambler
2 Down in the Willow Garden
4 Lightning Express
5 That Silver Haired Daddy of Mine
6. Who’s Gonna Shoe Your Pretty Little Feet

7 Barbara Allen
8 Oh So Many Years
9 I’m Here to Get My Baby Out of Jail
10 Rockin’ Alone (In an Old Rockin’ Chair)
11 Kentucky
12 Put My Little Shoes Away
Limited to 1,500 units

Genesis From Genesis To Revelation (Stereo)
This is the first time this album is on vinyl since its original U.S. release in 1974. The album features the original core Genesis line-up of Mike Rutherford, Tony Banks, Anthony Phillips, and Peter Gabriel

Track List:
Side One:
1 Where The Sour Turns To Sweet
2 In the Beginning
3 Fireside Song
4 The Serpent
5 Am I Very Wrong?
6 In the Wilderness

Side Two:
1 The Conqueror
2 In Hiding
3 One Day
4 Window
5 In Limbo
6 The Silent Sun
7 A Place to Call My Own
Limited to 1,500 units

The Zombies (Mono)
Originally released only in Europe and Japan, this is the first time The Zombies’ second album is being issued on vinyl in the Untied States.

Track List:
Side One:
1. The Way I Feel Inside
2. How We Were Before
3. Is This The Dream
4. Whenever You’re Ready
5. Woman
6. You Make Me Feel Good

Side Two
1. Gotta Get A Hold Of Myself
2. Indication
3. Don’t Go Away
4. I Love You
5. Leave Me Be
6. She’s Not There
Limited to 1,500 units

Norman Greenbaum Spirit In The Sky (Stereo)
First time available on vinyl since it was originally released in 1969, the album features the massive hit single “Spirit In The Sky.”

Track List:
Side One
1 Junior Cadillac
2 Spirit In The Sky
3 Skyline
4 Jubilee
5 Alice Bodine

Side Two
1 Tars of India
2 The Power
3 Good Lookin’ Woman
4 Milk Cow
5 Marcy
Limited to 1,500 units

All of the original album art is lovingly preserved for these special releases.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s